Cape Town Attorneys


Jose Manuel de Abreu (BA LLB) – Founder and managing partner, obtained his BA LLB degree from the University of Cape Town. After doing his articles he was admitted as an attorney in 1991 and has since been practicing as an attorney specializing in litigation and corporate law.
Email: jose@abcolaw.co.za

Marie Lou Gillespie (BA LLB LLM) – Our dynamic director is the head of the litigation department and specializes in High Court and Magistrate’s Court Litigation. An expert and experienced trial lawyer Marie-Lou attends to Matrimonial matters as well as Insolvency law including Liquidations.
Email: mgillespie@dacct.co.za

Lauren Liebowitz (LLB) – Lauren is a Professional Assistant and joined the firm in 2017. She specializes in property matters (sectional title and property owners’ associations), commercial and residential evictions, insolvency law as well as General Litigation.
Email: lliebowitz@dacct.co.za

Laura Nicholson (LLB) – Laura obtained her BSocSci LLB degree from the University of Cape Town in 2014 and joined De Abreu & Cohen Inc as a candidate attorney in 2015. Laura completed her articles of clerkship with the firm and was subsequently admitted as an attorney of the High Court of South Africa in 2017 and a conveyancer in 2019. Laura heads the firm’s conveyancing and estates departments and also practises as an associate in the firm’s litigation department, specialising in divorces and related family law matters, as well as contractual and property law disputes in both the High and Magistrates’ courts. Laura has a keen interest in property law and assists clients with property law opinions, specifically in respect of sectional title developments.
Email: lnicholson@dacct.co.za

Christian Tabor-Raeside (BA LLB) – Christian is a Legal Advisor. He specialises in commercial law and trust related matters. He has experience in drafting agreements for a wide variety of commercial transactions. He received his LLB from the University of Cape Town and has been with the firm since 2016. In 2018 he completed his articles with the firm.
Email: ctabor@dacct.co.za

Paulo De Abreu – Paulo assists the firm as a Candidate Attorney.
Email: pdeabreu@dacct.co.za

Talya Gasparre – Talya assists the firm as a Candidate Attorney.
Email: tgasparre@dacct.co.za

Justin Warren – Justin assists the firm as a Candidate Attorney.
Email: jwarren@dacct.co.za

Carmelita Dos Ramos – Carmelita assists the firm as a Candidate Attorney.
Email: cdosramos@dacct.co.za

Marcel Gerber – Marcel assists the firm as a Candidate Attorney.
Email: mgerber@dacct.co.za