Cape Town Attorneys


Jose Manuel de Abreu (BA LLB) – Founder and managing partner, obtained his BA LLB degree from the University of Cape Town. After doing his articles he was admitted as an attorney in 1991 and has since been practicing as an attorney specializing in litigation and corporate law.
Email: jose@abcolaw.co.za

Marie Lou Gillespie (BA LLB LLM) – Our dynamic director is the head of the litigation department  and specializes in High Court and Magistrate’s Court Litigation. An expert and experienced trial lawyer Marie-Lou attends to Matrimonial matters as well as Insolvency law including Liquidations.
Email: mgillespie@dacct.co.za

Brenda Munro (BA LLB LLM) – Brenda heads the Conveyancing and Debt Collections Departments. She joined De Abreu & Cohen in 2006 and after completing her Articles was appointed as a Professional Assistant. Brenda also specialises in Labour Law and heads the firm’s Labour Law Department.  Brenda was appointed Director in April 2016.
Email: bmunro@dacct.co.za

Lauren Liebowitz (LLB) – Lauren is a Professional Assistant and joined the firm in 2017. She specializes in property matters (sectional title and property owners’ associations), commercial and residential evictions, insolvency law as well as General Litigation.
Email: lliebowitz@dacct.co.za

Laura Nicholson (LLB) – Laura assists the firm as a Professional Assistant.
Email: lnicholson@dacct.co.za

Christian Tabor – Christian assists the firm as a Candidate Attorney.
Email: ctabor@dacct.co.za

Jenna Cubitt – Jenna assists the firm as a Candidate Attorney.
Email: jcubitt@dacct.co.za

Paulo De Abreu – Paulo assists the firm as a Candidate Attorney.
Email: pdeabreu@dacct.co.za

Lisa de Waal – Lisa assists the firm as a Candidate Attorney.
Email: ldewaal@dacct.co.za